Rory O’Sullivan takes the top prize at the Munsters!

A great weekend of racing was had by all at the Davy Munster Optimist Munster Championships last weekend in Kinsale Yacht Club.  Over 140 sailors travelled from the four corners of Ireland for the first Regional event of 2017.

Six races were planned over the two days and in challenging conditions Race Officer John Stollard did very well to get five races in for the main fleet sailors between Saturday and Sunday.

Top prize went to Rory O’Sullivan of RCYC, who got a fantastic three firsts on day two.  2nd place went to Leah Rickard of NYC, 3rd place went to Hugh Turvey of HYC/NYC, in 4th place was Harry Twomey of RCYC/CHSC and 5th place went to Justin Lucas of RCYC/TBSC.

The Junior fleet top prize went to Johnny Flynn of HYC/ RStGYC, 2nd place went to Luke Turvey of HYC/NYC, 3rd place went to 3rd Fiachra McDonnell RBYC, in 4th place was Sam Ledoux NYC and 5th place went to 5th Adam Walsh LRYC/HYC.

Also at the prize giving team gear was presented to the IDT Poland Team.  The team travelling to Poland are Patrick Bruen RCYC, Hugh O Connor NYC, Jamie Venor RCYC, Jacques Murphy RStGYC, Ben Graf  LRYC, Grace Fahy RStGYC/LDYC and Zoe Hall NYC.

IDT Poland Team 2017

IDT Poland Team 2017

A big Thank you to KYC for hosting the Munsters and for your team of amazing volunteers, coaches and parents who really made the event so special for everyone.

The Munsters were a great start to the Optimist regional events and we are now looking forward to the Ulsters.  This year they are taking place over the weekend of June 10th & 11th in The Royal North of Ireland Yacht Club, 7 Seafront Road, Cultra, Co.Down.

Entries are now open for the Ulsters and we would encourage you enter as soon as possible.  Entry for the Ulsters is €60 and entry closes at 10pm (sharp) on 26th of May.  You can enter now via the events page.


Roundup of Results from the Munsters

Senior Fleet

1st Rory O’Sullivan (RCYC)

2nd Leah Rickard (NYC)

3rd Hugh Turvey (HYC/NYC)

4th Harry Twomey (RCYC/CHSC)

5th Justin Lucas (RCYC/TBSC)



1st Kei Walker (RStGYC)

2nd Adam Doyle (TBSC)

3rd Ciara O’Regan (RStGYC)

4th Ciara Burns (RCYC)

5th Ross O’Shea (FYC)


Junior Fleet


1st Johnny Flynn (HYC/RStGYC)

2nd Luke Turvey (HYC/NYC)

3rd Fiachra McDonnell (RBYC)

4th Sam Ledoux (NYC)

5th Adam Walsh (LRYC/HYC)



1st Lucy Bateman (RCYC)

2nd Fiachra Farrelly (HYC)

3rd Rocco Wright (HYC)

4th Killian Reidy (FYC)

5th Jessica Riordan (RStGYC)


Regatta Fleet

1st Billy Doyle (TBSC)

2nd Kate Campion (MYC)

3rd Harvey Matthews (KYC)

4th Des Turvey (HYC)

5th Niamh Lynch


Our Sponsors


Annual Membership


Annual Membership for 2021 is now open at €60 per sailor.  Click account page to join or renew.

Archive Posts