Trials 2018


Trials Winner 2018 – Justin Lucas

Trials as always was a very tough event for all the sailors and parents, with some great sailing and resilience shown by the young sailors.  10 races, sailed over three days in challenging conditions, highlighted the quality of Irish Optimist sailing. 

The Royal St George YC have to be complemented for their great organisation and atmosphere and welcome they gave to all.


Also a special thanks as always to the OD and all the team of volunteers that made the event possible. It is important to remember that all the sailors who participated in Trials are winners.  Reaching Trials in itself is a big achievement and one that needs to be recognised.  Great to see so many new faces at Trials and genuine sadness that it was the last Trials for many other sailors.  You will be missed.


The IODAI Teams are detailed below:


Worlds Team

Justin Lucas (RCYC & KYC)

James Dwyer Matthews (RCYC & KYC)

Michael Crosbie (RCYC)

Rian Geraghty-McDonnell (NYC)

Harry Twomey (RCYC & CHSC)



Europeans Team

Johnny Flynn (HYC & RStGYC)

Sam Ledoux (NYC)

Rocco Wright (HYC & NYC)

Nathan van Steenberge (NYC)

Emily Riordan (RStGYC)

Eimear McMorrow Moriarty (TBSC)

Leah Rickard (NYC)


IDT France

Fiarchra McDonnell (NYC)

Ben O’Shaughnessy (RCYC)

Archie Daly (RStGYC)

Clementine van Steenberge (NYC)

Patrick Bruen (RCYC & MBSC)

George Pritchard (RCYC)

Jessica Riordan (RStGYC)


IDT Poland

Alana Twomey (RCYC & CHSC)

Eoin Horgan (RCYC & BSC)

Richard McSweeney (RCYC & MBSC)

Adam Walsh (LDYC & HYC)

Fiachra Farrelly (HYC)

Simon Pritchard (RCYC)

Lucia Cullen (RStGYC & NYC)

Anna O’Connor (RIYC)


Please see below link to pictures taken by Paul-Michel Ledoux at Trails.  Plus also below please find pictures of the IODAI 2018 Teams (photo credit Paul-Michel Ledoux).

Johnny Flynn, 2nd Trials 2018

James Dwyer Matthews, 3rd Trials 2018

Emily Riordan, 1st Girl Trials 2018

Worlds Team, (Harry Twomey missing from Picture)

Europeans Team (Johnny Flynn & Emily Riordan, missing from picture)

IDT France Team

IDT Poland Team (Anna O’Connor missing from picture)


Our Sponsors



Connachts 2019

Register HERE

See who's entered HERE

Registration Closed

Irish Optimist Nationals 2019

See who's entered HERE

  Subscribe to our RSS feed

Sign up to our mailing list


Marketing permission: I give my consent to to be in touch with me via email using the information I have provided in this form for the purpose of news, updates and marketing.What to expect: If you wish to withdraw your consent and stop hearing from us, simply click the unsubscribe link at the bottom of every email we send or contact us at We value and respect your personal data and privacy. To view our privacy policy, please visit our website. By submitting this form, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

Annual Membership


Annual Membership for 2019 will be open from November 15th 2018. This is when registration for Baltimore will also open.

Twitter Conversation


Archive Posts